You may be intrigued about marijuana (also known as cannabis, pot, weed, and a number of other colorful nicknames) now that its recreational use is legal in California. We want to ensure that visitors to San Francisco understand the new restrictions. Please comply with the following regulations: You must be 21 or older to possess, purchase, or consume cannabis for recreational purposes.
- This includes smoking, vaping, and ingesting goods laced with cannabis.
- You are permitted to possess 28.5 grams of cannabis plant material (about one ounce) and 8 grams of cannabis concentrate.
- It is prohibited to distribute or sell cannabis retail to minors.
- Driving under the influence of cannabis is prohibited.
In public, it is prohibited to consume, smoke, ingest, or vape cannabis. It is prohibited to open a cannabis or cannabis-related product packaging in public. This includes parks and walkways, as well as commercial and residential districts. It is also unlawful to use cannabis in other places where smoking is prohibited, such as pubs, restaurants, public buildings, workplaces, and spaces within 15 feet of doors and air ducts.
- Even if cannabis is allowed under California law, it remains illegal on federal property such as national parks, even if they are located in California.
- In the San Francisco Bay Area, federal properties include the Presidio, Alcatraz Island, the Marin Headlands, and Ocean Beach.
- On private property, cannabis consumption is permitted, although property owners and landlords may prohibit possession and usage.
Even if you are heading to a state where cannabis is legal, it is unlawful to transport marijuana over state boundaries. Only state-licensed businesses may sell cannabis products at retail.
How much cannabis constitutes a crime in California?
Possession of Cannabis Concentrate (more than eight grams) or Hashish – Penalties – Possession of more than 8 grams of concentrated cannabis products, including hashish, cannabis oils, extracts, wax, and dabs, is a crime that carries the possibility of jail time if convicted.
In other words, you will not be charged with a felony if you leave your home and consume marijuana in your private driveway-parked automobile. However, if your vehicle is parked on the street or if you drive after smoking marijuana, you may be prosecuted with smoking marijuana in public or driving under the influence of marijuana.
How much marijuana can you legally take with you?
Quick Weight & Price Guide for Cannabis:
|Weed Measurement||Weight In Grams||Price Range:|
|1 gram weed||1 gram||$3 – $15+|
|1 eighth ounce weed||3.543 grams||$25 – $55|
|1 quarter-ounce weed||7.087 grams||$50 – $80|
|1 half-ounce weed||14.175 grams||$90 – $160|
The quick answer to the issue of whether recreational marijuana businesses share personal information with the authorities is no. Why are we so assured? No state Cannabis Control Board mandates shops to provide PII about their clients. Numerous state Cannabis Control Boards mandate dispensaries to delete PII and/or take reasonable precautions to protect client privacy.
- There is no federal Cannabis Control agency, and states do not exchange information.
- There is no technique or format for collecting consumer data that might be exported and shared with any government or commercial organization.
- The larger POS systems are set to store customer loyalty and marketing-related information.
Don’t worry, neither the state nor the federal government is tracking your cannabis transactions. If your favorite dispensary scans your ID, they are just validating your age and expediting the construction of your customer record. No PII is shared with or transmitted to the government.
What are the consequences for a kid caught with marijuana in California?
Possession of Marijuana by Minors in California In November 2016, Californians decided to legalize marijuana for recreational use, bringing significant relief to the whole state, including individuals who are presently serving terms for marijuana possession and may be eligible to file for resentencing.
- The Adult Consume of Marijuana Act makes it lawful for adults over the age of 21 to possess and use small amounts of marijuana (just over one ounce of marijuana and up to eight grams of concentrated cannabis) and for regulated companies to sell marijuana.
- The law also permits individuals to cultivate up to six cannabis plants.
While the new laws implementing this law are still being implemented, this law has not rendered marijuana usage in California a free-for-all. As the law’s title indicates, the legalization of marijuana for recreational use applies solely to adults. Under Proposition 64, only those 21 and older may lawfully possess marijuana or cannabis concentrates (hashish).
- If you are under 21 and possess any amount of marijuana, you might be prosecuted with a criminal and subject to a fine, drug therapy, and community service.
- Under Proposition 64, marijuana possession for minors is comparable to alcohol possession.
- Underage individuals caught with marijuana or hashish will be penalized with an offense.
If you are 18 or older, this can result in a range of penalties, including a fine of up to $100. For a first offense, minors are punished to four hours of drug education or therapy and up to 10 hours of community service. If you are under the age of 18 and have committed a second or subsequent crime, you will be required to complete six hours of drug education or counseling and up to twenty hours of community service.
- Underage individuals who cultivate up to six marijuana plants are also in violation of the law.
- If a juvenile under the age of 18 sells or transports marijuana without a license, he or she is guilty of an offense punishable by community service, drug education, and therapy.
- If you’ve been charged with a violation for possession, sale, or transportation of marijuana as a juvenile in Los Angeles, California, a qualified drug defense attorney can help.
Importantly, when a juvenile is involved, the penalties for adults implicated in the sale or transportation of marijuana are substantially harsher. While a kid in possession of marijuana may only get a misdemeanor, an adult in possession of marijuana with the intent to sell or attempt to sell to a minor is guilty of a felony punishable by up to three years in prison.
- This is despite the fact that most marijuana sales will be deemed misdemeanors under Proposition 64.
- If you have been charged with a felony marijuana crime for attempting to sell marijuana to a child, a skilled drug defense attorney in Los Angeles, California can assist you in defending yourself.
- The Chambers Law Firm has years of expertise representing people accused of marijuana and other drug-related charges.
Contact our office immediately at 714-760-4088 or [email protected] to understand how we can assist you if you have been charged with a minor in possession of marijuana or any other drug-related offense. Possession of Marijuana by Minors in California