A measure in Tennessee that would have completely legalized marijuana is essentially dead for the legislative session of 2022.NASHVILLE, Tenn.(WKRN) — At the State Capitol, the effort to legalize marijuana is essentially doomed to fail in 2018.
- As a result, Tennessee risks falling farther behind its neighboring states, all of which are moving toward legalizing cannabis in some way or another.
Will Tennessee legalize weed in 2022?
The recent introduction of a measure to legalize cannabis in Tennessee in 2022 has caused quite a stir in the industry. This proposal for an amendment to the 2022 ballot was initiated by a legislator. This piece of legislation, also referred to as House Bill 1634, has the support of Republican Representative Bruce Griffey of District 75.
What are the Marijuana Laws in Tennessee?
Although the possession of cannabis oils containing 0.9 percent or less may be lawful in Tennessee, it is still illegal to possess marijuana in the state, which can result in both jail and a fine. If you are caught with less than half an ounce of marijuana for the first time, you are guilty of a misdemeanor, which carries a maximum sentence of one year in jail and a fine of $250.
Does Tennessee have a voter initiative to legalize cannabis?
Despite the fact that a majority of Tennesseans are in favor of legalizing cannabis and providing access to medical marijuana, the state does not have a system for voter initiatives. Legislative authority is only in the hands of those who have been duly elected. In Tennessee, using cannabis for either medical or recreational purposes is against the law.
Is it a felony to grow cannabis in Tennessee?
In the state of Tennessee, cultivating cannabis in any quantity is considered a criminal offense.A required minimum term of one year in jail is applicable for possession of 11 or less plants, with a maximum punishment of six years in prison and a fine that can go up to $5,000.Growing between 10 and 19 plants carries a maximum sentence of 12 years in prison as well as a possible fine of $50,000.
- The minimum sentence for this offense is two years in jail.